Women of the ELCA


As a community of women, created in the image of God, called to discipleship in Jesus Christ, and empowered by the Holy Spirit, the participants commit themselves to grow in faith, affirm their gifts, support one another in their callings, engage in ministry and action, and promote healing and wholeness in the church, the society and the world.


To mobilize women to act boldly on their faith in Jesus Christ.

The Women of the ELCA unit at Immanuel is a part of the Church Wide WELCA organization, and includes all women of the church. There are women who hold numerous important positions within the church. They serve on the Church Council and as Committee members; lead the Sunday School Program and Vacation Bible School; act as greeters, ushers, communion assistants, and readers; and help to send out the monthly newsletter, annual report, and church directory. When volunteers are needed, the Immanuel women respond wholeheartedly.

In addition, the women of Immanuel serve meals at funerals and participate in the Prayer Chain, Visitation Ministry, and the quilting and craft groups, which are all discussed in more detail later in this publication.

Some other areas where women take an active role at Immanuel include:
Altar Guild
Choir, Band, and Bell Choir Members
Food Pantry Attendants
Church Librarians
Sunday School/Vacation Bible School Teachers
Luminary Participants
Christmas Program Directors
Annual Garage Sale Workers
Kitchen Helpers for Special Functions
Volunteers for Youth Programs

This, of course, is only a partial list and is not meant to be all-inclusive as there are many other ways the women of Immanuel reach out to serve others in the church and in the surrounding community. The Women of the ELCA are making a difference!


President – Janelle Hebbe
Vice President – Luanne Gytri
Secretary – Deborah Reeder
Treasurer – Nancy Reeb
Action/Justice Coordinator – Diane Moellenberg & Sherry Wukash
Community/Stewardship Coordinator – Kathy McKee
Growth/Discipleship Coordinator – Dorothy Kraemer
Chairman, Elizabeth Circle – Sharion Tanner
Chairman, Mary Circle – Gloria Kuempel
Chairman, Rebecca Circle – Barbara Bohls
Chairman, Crafters Circle – Cindy Harlow